Mini-Blind Makeover

I’m not sure I know anyone that likes mini blinds. I HATE mini blinds, but I feel like everywhere I turn, there they are! Eww! I’d rather have no blinds then those blinds. But, is there something that you can do to make them, say, more pleasing to the eye?? Yes there is and I’ve found the solution… mini blinds into ROMAN SHADES!! I said it, ROMAN SHADES! It’s so exciting and looks just like the real, expensive thing and you don’t have to sew anything!

Here is a picture of the previous window treatment (if you can even all it that). But if you missed my last post, click here to quickly catch up.

roman shade 1

 

The best part about this project is that I got to visit my favorite store ever, Hobby Lobby! If you go there you have to stick to your list because if you don’t, you will walk out spending $100+.  There are only a few BUT important items you need to do this project (pictured below): Your choice of fabric, fabric glue, hem tape, a measuring tape, pen, and scissors.

roman shade 4

 

Now that we have all the tools we need, lets begin. First start off, start by taking down your old blinds, which should be fairly simple, and they should just slide out (at least mine did). Then, extend them to as long as you can and place them on your work space, mine just happened to be the floor.

roman shade 3

Before you start you need to measure the blinds and decide how far apart you want your folds to be. For example, my blinds are 40 inches long. I want more folds since its a smaller window, so I will do mine every 6 inches, so 40/6=6.67, just round it up and do 7 that are 6.67 inches apart. You can count the top bar and the bottom as 2 of the 7, so you will only need to keep 5 of the blinds. We will touch on this again if your confused.

Well, Grab your scissors and start cutting. You are going to be cutting the thin string, the latter, on each side and then remove. It should only take about 2 minutes but make sure you do not cut the thick string that is threaded through the binds. Once your done, pull the sting completely out and discard.

roman shade 5    roman shade 6

 

 

Once you’ve removed the string, the blinds will get all mumble-jumbled (yes, thats a technical term) but thats alright we will be fixing that. Next,  remove the cap that is on the base of the blinds, pull the string out and untie or cut the knot.

roman shade 8

 

After you’ve untied the knot, pull the base of the blinds off the string. Now, lets go back to the math equation that I brought up before. As I discovered, I need to keep 5 of the blinds on the string. So, remove all but the top 5 blinds and then replace the base of the blinds, double knot both strings and replace the cap.

roman shade 9

Now to the fun part! Place the fabric under the blinds and completely stretch them out. Begin to cut around them, leave 1-2 inches on each side so you can fold the edges over.

roman shade 10

 

Begin with the sides, folding them over, using the blinds as a guide to keep it straight. I used an iron to make the folds crisp and to double check that they were even. Grab your hem tape and read the directions on the package carefully. Start attaching the hem tape, making sure that it is completely covered by the fold. You don’t want any of it sticking out.

roman shade 11 roman shade 12

 

Next, you will need to repeat that process on the top and bottom of the blinds. I chose to leave enough room on the top of my blinds to wrap up and around and on the base (enough room to do to the very bottom). I don’t want you to be able to see the base at any position.

roman shade 13

 

Now, begin to glue. I started with the top, and you will see why. Again, read the directions on the bottle of the fabric glue before you start. I put a “zig-zag” line of glue across the back of the blinds first and then a “zig-zag” on the front. Apply pressure and clean up any excess glue.

roman shade 14

Pull the blinds out straight and lined up with the bottom fold. Grab your tape measurer and line up against the side of the fabric. I needed my blinds to be 6.67 inches apart from each other, so the first blind at 6.67, 13.34, 20.01, etc, until you hit the base of the blinds. Mark each blind with a pen, on both sides, at each point so that you can line it up with the marks when you glue.roman shade 16

 

Then begin to glue the blinds to the fabric. Make sure you put the glue on the curved side of the blind and put the glue across it. DO NOT get glue on the string, you will need that to move the curtains.

roman shade 17

 

Last, but not least, glue the fabric to the bottom on the base, apply pressure and remove any excess glue.

roman shade 18

Finished!!!! Now you just have to let it dry. I wish I could say I did that but I was so excited to see it up, I probably only waited 45 minutes to an hour before I started to reinstall it.

roman shade 20   roman shade 24roman shade 21 roman shade 22

Here are a few different photos. I wanted to be able to show you what it looks like when the sun is shinning through it and when it is dark. I am completely LOVING it and am so happy with the results!!!!

All in all, this project took me about 2 hours and about $15. That is probably a savings of at least $100! I can’t wait to make all my mini blinds into roman shades!!

Let me know if you try it too and post a picture of the results! I can’t wait to see them!

name

 

5 thoughts on “Mini-Blind Makeover

  1. somethingold2somethingnew says:

    This is genius! You’re a life saver. I have little ones who tear up my floor legnth blinds (and older ones who are less than delicate with them), and have been hating how torn up they look. I will definintely be redoing mine. Thanks for sharing the great idea.

    Like

Leave a comment